December 18, 2012

December 18, 2012

            The Miner County Board of Commissioners met in regular session, December 18, 2012, in the Miner County Courthouse.  Members present:  Roger Wentland, Heath Thompson, Don Bowman, Voni Durant and Pat Maroney.  Absent:  none.  Chairman Thompson called the meeting to order.  The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

            Motion by Wentland, seconded by Durant and carried to approve the agenda as amended.  The minutes of December 4th were approved.

            Commissioners reviewed correspondence from Sage Information Services and South Dakota Retirement System.

            Mads Andenas from the Rural Learning Center Board of Directors reviewed the status of the organization.  The RLC Board of Directors voted to return the grant money received from Miner County.  Commissioners asked if the grant dollars would help revive the organization and keep economic development happening in Miner County.  Andenas stated that he could not guarantee that the grant funds could sustain the organization.  Maroney excused himself from discussion.  Commissioners accepted the return of the grant dollars. 

            Roger Risty and Kay Heimark of Risty Benefits presented the renewal rates for the current TransAmerica and Guardian plans.  No increase in premiums was included in the 2013 renewal.  Commissioners also approved adding the accidental death option to the current life insurance plan for employees. 

            Ron Krempges, Miner County Highway Superintendent reported on various highway matters.  Krempges also made a request of level raises as follows.  Motion by Maroney, seconded by Bowman and carried to grant the following level raises as per Krempges request:  Terrance Carlson from level 5 to level 6, Darwin Callies from level 4 to level 5, and David Laible from level 2 to level 3.  Krempges will review the submitted township certification of road miles and report any discrepancies to the auditor’s office before the end of January.  

            Welfare Director Gibi Page presented poor relief case 12-11.  Motion by Wentland, seconded by Durant and carried to approve payment ($227.57) to the City of Howard for utilities associated with case 12-11.

            Zoning Administrator Kay Hageman presented the following plat for consideration.  Motion by Wentland and seconded by Bowman to approve the following resolution.


            BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF MINER COUNTY, SOUTH DAKOTA, that the plat of Tract 1, Poppen’s Addition in the SW ¼ of Section 27, T108N, R56W, Miner County, South Dakota, which has been submitted for examination pursuant to law, is hereby approved and the County Auditor is hereby authorized and directed to endorse on such plat a copy of this resolution and certify the same.

            Voting aye:  Maroney, Wentland, Bowman, Durant and Thompson.  Voting nay:  none.  Resolution adopted this 18th day of December, 2012. 

                                                            Heath A. Thompson, Chairman                     

                                                            Miner County Board of Commissioners

Attest:  Susan R. Connor, Miner County Auditor

            The Summary of Homeland Security Grant Funds Distribution was reviewed.  Commissioners requested that a copy of the summary be mailed to all Miner County Fire Departments, Ambulance Departments and mayors of Miner County municipalities. 

            Auditor Susan Connor informed the board that Rebecca Mommaerts has been hired as a part time accounting clerk in the auditor’s office.  She will begin her duties on December 31st. 

            Motion by Durant and seconded by Bowman to approve the following resolution.


            WHEREAS, insufficient appropriation was made in the 2012 adopted budget for the following departments to discharge just obligations of said appropriations; and

            WHEREAS, SDCL 7-21-32.2 provides that transfers may be made by resolution of the board from the contingency appropriation established pursuant to SDCL 7-21-6.1 to other appropriations;

            THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the appropriation be transferred from contingency as follows:

General  Govt. Building $2,000 and Ag Building $4,100.

            Voting aye:  Thompson, Maroney, Bowman, Durant and Wentland.  Voting nay:  none.  Resolution approved this 18th day of December 2012. 

                                                            Heath A. Thompson, Chairman

                                                            Miner County Board of Commissioners

Attest:  Susan R. Connor, Miner County Auditor

            The following quote per gallon (excluding non applicable or refunded tax) based on a constant markup escalator clause was received for fuel for the period of January 1, 2013, through December 31, 2013:  Howard Farmers Coop Association $2.90 unleaded, $2.87 unleaded with ethanol, $3.73 clear #1, $3.49 clear #2, $3.52 dyed #1, $3.28 dyed #2, $3.54 dyed #1 at Carthage shop, $3.30 dyed #2 at Carthage shop.  It was moved by Bowman, seconded by Durant, and carried (Wentland abstained) to award the purchase of fuel for the period from January 1 to December 31 to Howard Farmers Coop Association with the price being adjusted according the rack prices as of January 1, 2013.         

Claims allowed:  South Dakota Dept. Revenue $1545.00 CHN Qtrly Pmt; Don Bowman $51.80, Voni Durant $44.40, Pat Maroney $44.40, Best Western Ramkota Inn $158.00 travel; Miner County Pioneer $695.83 publishing; Rafferty Robbins $3.99, Rusty’s Foodland $127.59, Tom’s Hardware $46.94; Office Peeps $162.74; Dakota Data Shred $34.16, Dust-Tex Service $170.22, MidAmerican Research $348.48, Karla Neises $233.20, Sturdevant’s Auto Parts $733.73, Boyer Ford Trucks $64.73, Butler Machinery $225.29, Campbell Supply $1.30, GCR Tires $4195.98, Homestead Building Supplies $97.05, Howard Farmers Coop $1.50, James River Equipment $1220.54, Light and Siren $616.64, Northern States Supply $179.99, Puthoff Repair Sales & Service $432.32, RDO Equipment $25.96, Webster Scale $266.00, Wheelco Brake $187.52, Zep Manufacturing $722.82, Cardmember Services $250.46 supplies; Miner County Treasurer $257.60 postage; Avera Queen of Peace $126.00 blood alcohol draw; Phillip Parent $344.80 court appointed attorney fees; Office Peeps $208.66, Audio Electronics $500.00, Crimestar Corp. $600.00, Howard Farmers Coop $61.08, Bob’s Electric $9329.00, Webster Scale $487.50, Sioux Falls 2-Way $100.00 repairs; City of Howard $1357.13 utilities; Winker Stump Grinding $462.50 stump removal; Howard Farmers Coop $18,448.72, Wingen’s Garage $167.75 fuel; Howard Animal Clinic $79.50 rabies test; Davison County Jail $450.00 prisoner care; City of Howard $227.57 poor relief; Stryker Sales $1476.00 ambulance equipment; Interlakes Community Action $512.90 outreach worker; Maria Feldhaus $679.99 computer; Miner Co 4-H Council $279.95 LEGO Mindstorms Education Kit; Aramark $114.19, Barry Callies $500.00 rent; Homestead $154.88, David Skoglund $31,111.11, Spencer Quarries $2301.48, Winter Inc. $346.50 road materials; Rechnagel Const. $66,000.00, SD DOT $1834.63 contracted maintenance; Alliance Communications $300.00, Century Link $95.90, Santel Comm. $55.12, Triotel Comm. $173.53 911 charges. 

The meeting adjourned to December 28, 2012.  Dated this 18th day of December, 2012.

                                                Heath A. Thompson, Chairman

                                                Miner County Board of Commissioners

Attest:  Susan R. Connor, Miner County Auditor


Contact Info

Please see department pages for direct contact information.

Physical Address: 

Miner County Courthouse

Park Ave. & Main St

401 N. Main St.

Howard, SD 57349


Office Hours: 

7:30am-12:00pm & 12:30pm-4:00pm

Monday - Friday

(Sheriff/Dispatch Office Open 24/7)